A Watery Larder

Yesterday's ridge of high pressure had moved off towards Finland so we were back to grey murk again today.
I went out walking late today, thinking I'd pass  by the beaver lodge as it got dark and maybe actually get to see a beaver. I took the picture on the way out. Coming back 2 hours later it was too dark for pictures. But there were no beavers - I stood around eating a sandwich while the drizzle of fine snow continued to drift down, but the water remained totally still and nothing moved.
That nondescript mound on the other side of the stream is their lodge. If you look carefully you can see they have been adding branches and mud to the top of the lodge, working from the far side.  The branches and twigs in the water are part of their food store for the winter and I know they are around because every time I pass by this store has increased in size.
Other happenings today...
I started another sourdough batch, after watching a short film with Lasse yesterday. It gave me some new ideas to try out. Definitely indulging my inner nerd...
I bottled Jan's elderflower wine, freeing up the bucket for her home brewed glögg (spicy wine to be drunk warm).
We finished off the Christmas letter and printed it out, once I'd figured out how to get the "print both sides" option to appear.
It's been quite a busy day today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.