Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Best of days

Well, that was a busy day! My photo, which shows our back lane looking strangely lovely, was taken at the start of it, when I took out last week's papers to the bin. Despite the fact that I was in a furry dressing-gown, I just had to go back in for my phone ...

And then we had a visit from Kevin our Bishop. It's the first time he's been since the institution of our Rector, and we showed him, as they say, a good time. He loves to sing: we sang his fave hymns. He likes a good sing: we belted out the glory bits to the magic sound of the new organ. His sermon contained what he described as the prize-winning, shortest sermon ever delivered: "God is good. You are bad. Change." He was there to renew the licences of those of us who do things that might be seen as the prerogative of the clergy, but what we'll all take away is the vision of him during the last hymn  singing his heart out and twirling his crozier like a drum-major. I was too convulsed with mirth to sing, let alone take a photo, so I've added an extra that I sneaked during the sermon.

Later my pal and I went for a walk in Benmore Gardens, coming down as darkness fell and the hillside opposite was pink with afterglow. We saw two small deer pottering peacefully up the hillside in front of us, and there was solitary birdsong in the silence. 

Now I'm off to cook dinner and drink wine. Good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.