Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

Weight loss journey progress (or not) 17112019

Come on it’s not the festive period yet!!


Starting weight (25 May 2018 = 273lb)
Today’s weight = 179.6lb
Average weight last week = 179.2lb
Average weight this week = 179.8lb
Weight gain this week = +0.6lb
Note: I weigh every day first thing and calculate weight loss based on average weight for the week.

Well, what can I say? As anticipated last night’s overindulgence had its effect on the scales this morning and I post an increase in weight for the week of 0.6lb. It’s not the festive period yet and I’ve done what I did last December/January – gained weight over the month:
The gain over the month might be less than a pound (0.7lb), but a gain is a gain and I have still December and January to go so I will need to take some action to prevent more significant gains in the coming months.
I know the reason for the gain: I am consuming more calories than I should. When I compare this months to August I am in the red nearly every week whereas in August it was green all the way – and then I was loosing weight. It’s not that I’m consuming substantially more (just a little bit more), the main reason is that I’m not expending as many calories. Two reasons for this: I’m not as active in the evenings and even although my time at the Peak sports’ village has not changed, as I have lost weight I do not burn as many calories for equivalent effort.
So what’s the solution? I would find it difficult to increase time spent on exercise till the days get longer (and that’s months away) so the only option is to reduce calorie intake. I will have to reduce my portion sizes and resist the temptation of treats and browsing on snacks (even healthy ones) after my evening meal. A new food regime starts tomorrow (today’s meal already prepared) so wish me luck!!

In terms of exercise it will be same as usual but I may try to up the weights and resistance in the gym to see if I can get a greater burn.

Instead of my usual Yoga class on Friday I will be going to a Mo-Yoga charity event. This is a class organised by Marc Rodwell and Shams for Movember with the aim of raising donations and awareness for Movember UK. It will also demonstrate the benefits of Yoga for men (and women). I just hope the class is fully supported. I can vouch for the wellbeing benefits I have gained from Yoga and thank Shams for “dragging” me in to one of her classes 3 months ago – I didn’t really need much persuading but she just provided the encouragement I needed to overcome my trepidation - Just like me overcoming my hesitance to attend Cardio Dance classes by persuading John White to try the water before me (he thinking that I was a regular attender and then finding out he was the only male there). However, since then, and his glowing report of iit, the Cardio Dance class has had to put up with my presence every week. It was so good this week as I met my match – someone else who could not tell the difference between right and left and was 6 steps behind everyone else in the class.

Hope you’ve all had a good week and the scales are good for you at weigh ins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.