Sunday

I wanted it to be a relaxed day, but as it was dry and I don't have many weekends in Autumn left to do garden things, before it could get very cold, I had to get outside. After The Archers and ironing that is!

So I started in the garden, digging out another patch of weed on the flower bed I've been working on all year. I also planted two hostas and a christmas rose that had been dug out of other places, into the area above the pond. Fingers crossed they survive and like it there.

After a late lunch, I piled up the hazel cut from mums last week, and put it in the trailer, then Henry and I walked down to the allotment to begin a job of burning a big pile of old wood. Henry got the fire going, which was challenging as the wood was very damp. Minnie came out to have a look around, and I dug out my last row of potatoes. Jon turned up after he had varnished the new door, and we emptied the huge pile of wood from the trailer.

As you can see the boys managed a roaring fire, the like of which we haven't seen since Wandlebury. All wood was burnt and at 5 o'clock Jon and H drove back. I sat and watched the fire with Bracken for another half an hour, then walked back in the pitch black. I love a fire.

Home and cooked dinner. Now I'm off for a bath. A bit of digging and I really ache!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.