I was outside...

... before dawn this morning in the cold and dark, drinking tea from my Crazy Cat Lady mug, trying to see the Leonids.

Because my new android camera phone has night sight I experimented to see if it would take photos of stars in the dark (I think night sight is really meant for low light conditions, not pretty near pitch black).

I have light pollution both sides from neighbours security lights. But I managed to identify several star constellations, a half bright moon which is interfering with seeing the Leonids (Leo was to the right of the moon), several aeroplanes blinking their way across the sky, one satellite, and one shooting star!

I also managed to take a photo of the Big Dipper despite the light pollution of security lights and the bright moon. So this is my main blip photo.

Having the thingumyjig I blipped yesterday on the back of the Android helped me stabilize the camera better, especially with my finger through the metal ring in the back. I have to hold the phone as still as possible because it takes a few seconds to take the shot.

Popeye thought I was crazy going outside at night. He actually looked shocked at me and scooted back inside. A good job he did or I might have tripped over him in the dark. They do say if you lie on the ground you can see the night sky better. But I would never have been able to get back up again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.