wlmjr

By wlmjr

Transformations

After a brief family conversation around the idea of Transgender Day of Remembrance, my daughter quietly began to draw what you see as we travelled on a trolley.

Although I don’t personally know the names of anyone identifying as Trans whose lost their life from a targeted act of violence, nor will I be attending any candlelight vigils, dedicated church services, marches, art shows, food drives or film screenings... I still consider myself an ally to the transgender community at large. As an unpaid VOLUNTEER Community Health Advocate, I do NOT discriminate.

Equally as important, I am raising children who understand AND believe it’s not merely enough to simply honor the memory of the dead. WE must make valiant attempts at transforming our practices of living.



Artist: Frankie (13yo daughter)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.