If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Winter Jasmine (Jasminum nudiflorum)

My usual afternoon spent with Kanyl and my usual desperate prowl around his garden looking for something different to blip.  Today it was the Winter Jasmine which caught my eye.

This is a plant which I have been familiar with all my life we had it in the garden at home.  Kanyl has it over the fence at the bottom of the garden and at this time of the year the mass of yellow flowers is very eye catching.

Native to China it has become naturalised in parts of the USA and possibly parts of France.  The scientific name points to the fact that the flowers are on the plant when there are no leaves.  Regular pruning which can be hard helps to ensure there are no bare patches when it flowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.