Putting the garden to bed before December.

As it was fine and fairly mild this morning I spent the time in the garden. I always do a light pruning of all the roses before December. My dad taught me how to use the secateurs and where to make the cuts.
It stops “wind rock” and then in March/early April I give them all a hard prune.
There were lots of tweetings and twittering around, up by the “wild patch” by the side of the summerhouse. Goldfinches, a nuthatch, lots of sparrows, a couple of coaltits and bluetits.
The robin was singing intermittently.
After doing the roses I tidied up the beds and clumps of lavender and osteospurmums.
. The soil is saturated so it was easy to hoe.
Coffee time in the summerhouse with a biscuit to dunk. The sun was watery and veiled.
After lunch it has begun to rain.
Glad I spent an hour or more outside.
Off out this evening (me) to a local Anglo-French Society. A presentation by Thierry Viennois, who is excellent. Always interactive and informative.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.