WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Situation normal

Here's a picture from a train window. I finally made it home, only about 18 hours later than anticipated. I got on the one TGV leaving Girona for, allegedly, Paris at 10 a.m. Once on the train it was revealed that it was only in fact going to Béziers, a mere 800 km short of the advertised destination. This may have been disappointing for some passengers, but it wasn't for me, because Narbonne is the stop before that.

Arriving in Narbonne I thought it best to check at the information desk regarding my return train to Madrid on Monday. When asked if it was running, the lady at the desk confidently said "Oui !" Then she looked me in the eye and added, "Normalement." We both laughed because we know what that means. Such a useful word in many circumstances: "Yes, but there are no guarantees." The flood repair work is supposed to be finished this weekend. But maybe it won't be. Maybe the train driver will be on strike over his pension. Who knows? All will be revealed on Monday.

I'd left Bruno the Peugeot at B's, so I took the precaution of checking he would start as soon as I got there. Nope. Dead as a doornail. Disappointing! He's never done this to me before. But hey, it was lunchtime by now. So we had lunch and a glass of wine. While we were drinking coffee I phoned our insurance assistance helpline, and the SOS Dépannage guy was there within half an hour. He had a mega charger, and when he plugged it in Bruno started instantly, so it was obviously just the battery. He gave me directions to the nearest Feu Vert, who efficiently fitted a new one.

Home via various errands all of which involved stopping and starting the car, thus confirming it was working perfectly. Brr, the house was cold ... but now the fire is lit, I've had some food, and there will be hot water for me to have my first bath for nearly two months! Lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.