Yellow bread

I know that we weren't going to do any more bread blips but, in truth, it's all I've got today. I'm off next Monday and Tuesday so I've had my head down trying to get stuff cleared away - and it's been one of those days where the unexpected lurked around every corner and sprang out to waylay me. 

So you've got a crumb shot of yellow bread. The image doesn't do the colour justice. Meles put me onto this flour - it's an ancient grain called Khorasan which is sold under the trademark Kamut. I decided to give it a spin because the taste is supposed to be special - and it is! This is a 40% loaf; of the 500gms of flour I've used 200gms of Kamut, and I think it needed a bit more work as the crumb is quite closed but the taste is well ace - really nutty. I think I'll try it with a seeded wholegrain next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.