KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Frosty Morning Again

Well, I guess it's the season of frosty mornings! There was a hefty frost this morning - it was 27 degrees F when I got up around 6:30 am (about -3 C). I didn't even get out to the garden until around 9:30 and found all sorts of interesting frosted plants. But the best was this ornamental kale - I posted an entry a few days ago with the same plant, now it looks like a beautiful sugar-coated delicacy! Of course as soon as the sun hit it it became less edible-looking :-)

The extras are other kale shots...I couldn't choose. So a study of ornamental kale, if you will.

My dad is doing well today - he'll remain in the hospital over the weekend, but we're all very relieved (he's not - he's annoyed that he's still in the hospital!). Thanks so much for all your kind words!

It looks like the rain is going to start in the next couple of days, and there's even talk of a bit of snow in the forecast. I've got tomorrow to plant the remainder of my spring bulbs in my new garden...otherwise I'll be doing it in the cold rain!  I planted crocus and Asiatic Lilies today - a variety called 'Mapira' which is a deep burgundy. Can't wait to see it bloom! I've got daffodils and some species tulips to plant, oh and fritillaria and snow drops. Cannot wait to see this new garden in the spring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.