The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Ready for the Ladies

It was my turn to host book club this month. There are twelve of us when everybody comes. Today there were nine. I set up the table and put my yearly calendar gift on each plate except mine. I had thought 11 were coming but I forgot one was in Arizona. The other gal must have had a conflict. 

We as always had great conversations. This month we read Michelle Obama's Becoming. I say "read" but several of us actually listened to the book. I read mine through Audible. Michelle Obama read the book aloud and that gave me a feeling of hearing it directly from her. It felt more friendly than it would have reading. That said, there were none of the pictures in the auditory version.

We had quite a bit of discussion today about the book and many of its implications. It was a good discussion. After everybody left I made an appearance at a lunch party for the fellows who've been working on the condos here since early summer. They will be finished in a couple of weeks and the condo management thought a celebration was in order. Shelly was already there having a yummy lunch. I declined since we all had lunch at the book club. After the party for the workers I headed home to clean up from book club. Now I'm finished and I'm relaxing. Been a busy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.