With wings spread wide

We drove north this morning and after lunch I went down to the Southend of Snells Beach. Initially, almost the only birds to be seen were the white faced herons. Typically, they flew away if I moved very much and was closer than 40 or so metres.  I was able to get this photo of one which flew away, only to land little further off.

I alked on through the water and further north and found the kuaka flock spread over a large area. They were spooked by the hurrying away of the herons.

This evening we went to share a meal with S' cousin and his wife, and the other cousin (from England) was also there. Before dark and before dinner, two kereru flew nto one of the big trees near the house allowing me to get the photo I have put up as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.