BoneShaker

By BoneShaker

A frosty adventure

I was determined to get out into the peak to blip today. I was planning to take the kids out and give them "fresh air" and a brisk walk. I forget what it was like when my own parents used to say this to me. I'd LIKE to say I was enthusiastic. More realistically though I probably gave them the same look that I received from my kids today...

So, solo, I managed to escape for an hour and drive 10 minuites up the road. (I'm very lucky to live in south Sheffield on the edge of Derbyshire) I parked the car and walked up towards Burbage Moor, which is one of my favourite spots in the world. It was around 1 degree when I walked up this path and the frost was everywhere on the heather and frozen water holes. I managed to sink a few times into ice covered mud puddles as you just couldn't see where they were and needless to say I have had to completely wash my boots this afternoon.

I took lots of pics with the help of a tripod and a polarizing filter - I really needed an ND or grad filter as it was SO bright today - balancing the exposure of the land and sky was impossible. Needless to say a couple of tweaks in lightroom to bring out the clouds an saturation was needed.

It was a fantastic hour where the moor was silent and timeless. I know that burbage will feature lots in the coming year - such a special place

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.