Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

The trouble with white carbohydrates

On Thursday I had a 3 course meal including a large bowl of leek and potato soup. The soup was a gift from Shams (fitness and wellbeing instructor extraordinaire) and made from my allotment vegetables with added barley and pulses. It would have been impolite of me to refuse the gift (and not to enjoy it) even although I knew it was likely to have an adverse effect on my weight. Next morning I was proved correct with my scales greeting me with a gain of almost 2 pounds compared to the previous morning. How was this possible? Granted it was a very large bowl of soup and it did contain the dreaded white carbohydrates in the form of potatoes and barley but there couldn’t have been more than 8 ounces of these.
Nutritional and metabolic science provides an explanation:
When, like me, you cut back or minimise white carbohydrates, you exhaust your body's glycogen reserves which are about a pound in weight. You also lose the water retained by that glycogen, which will account for another four pounds. That's not a bad thing per se, but it pays to be aware because if you are to then consume white carbohydrates you can easily replace some of the lost glycogen along with four times it weight in the form of water. Replacing just a half a pound of glycogen will result in in a weight gain of more than a two pounds!!
Since Thursday I have been good and main meals have been loaded with high fibre vegetables with minimal white carbohydrates content. Hopefully when I step on the scales tomorrow morning I will have lost the weight gain resulting from Thursday’s indulgences.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.