EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

Ahmed Palm Man

Ahmed..He is a magician at making anything out of the stem of the date palm tree. It could be a chair, a table, a crib, a lamp, a sun lounger, show him a picture and he can make it!!!

He has spent the last 6 years or so, working at the side of the road, by the Colossi of Memnon (Overlooking the Theban Necropolis) with his FATHERworking in the office behind him....

Sayeed, his neighbour, is a plant/flower seller. They are partners in crime, or at least they spend their days together, talking about the people that pass, the trade they make and 'Life'

I totally love these guys, as every time I pass by, wether on foot, or by bike, they shout, hello and beckon me for shai (Tea)

Ahmed whipped up this heart for me, in less than 1 minute. That gives you an idea of the skill he has and how quickly he works..............

I will go back to visit, as Sayeed was most disgruntled, that I wanted to focus on Ahmed and did not need a photo of him (Of course I took some of him, but one can only BLIP, once a day!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.