EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

Caravanserai

Caravanserai means a watering hole or resting place for people and animals. They also provide water for the Islamic ablution ritual (Washing before prayer)

One of my favourite 'Best kept secrets' is this shop selling products that are handcrafted by Egyptian people from villages all over Egypt. Khairy, the owner buys directly from them, enabling famalies to get the best price for their goods. FairTrade, we call it, but they are not FairTrade in the 'Official' sense...yet.

It's a real treasure trove of trinkets, glassware, scarves, Islamic lamps, cards, jewellery and clothing.
But my favourite part of the shop? The door. It was made in the 60's and has a traditional Islamic designed bolt with the makers name carved on the inside. Looking out from inside, gave me the feeling of Alice in Wonderland, another world. But it is very much my World and I love to be able to stay here and feel I am in 'Wonderland' everyday.

Inside Caravanserai

Flickr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.