Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Such skill

I bought this delightful object from our sale yesterday. I'm sad to say I don't know anything about its history although I tend to lean towards it being Japanese. I've made the characters the thumbnail in the hope that somebody may be able to tell me what it says.
When I first saw it I thought the birds were made of feathers but on closer inspection I realise that they are in fact exquisitely fine embroidery. I presume the threads, like the back cloth are silk. The stand looks like rosewood. It goes beautifully in our dining room as the silk cloth is exactly the same shade as our walls. I think it's absolutely stunning.
Today I have been rather lazy although I have done several loads of washing.
Church this morning and as this is the last Sunday before Advent it is the feast of Christ the King, it is also the last Sunday in the church year. I was reading the lesson today and rather enjoyed it.
I made some oatcakes and a big pot of soup this afternoon and enjoyed a visit from Ali. They still have no boiler, so she's spoiled herself with a hot bath and brought me another load of washing. She also put a tv stand and a coffee table on gum tree and they have gone already within 2 hours. Very effective.
Not enough steps for the second day running - or rather not running.! lol!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.