Expansively red

I should have known something was wrong when the external drive attached to the 'office' iMac wasn't showing up on the other machines on the network. I was just too much in unwinding mode to check things out, and it was only late last night that I thought of getting to the bottom of things. So, why did I do a re-start without first doing a little investigation? Whatever the explanation, the decision may well prove costly, since the re-start didn't happen and a subsequent start from the install disc to run Disk Utility didn't work either because the internal hard drive failed to verify or repair or even mount.

Oh dear! Some stuff is backed up, but there's still quite a bit which I could really do without losing. I spent far too much early-hours time toing and froing in a vain attempt to get to the bottom of things, and finally I gave in and phoned a Mac service place first thing this morning, unplugged the machine (it's one of the 'swan-neck' iMacs, and I was very surprised to find out when they checked the serial number that I've had it since late 2002!).

I won't know for two or three days if I need a new drive (though I'm 90% sure that I will), or if they'll manage to retrieve my data (though I'm 90% sure that it's just a question of how much I'll lose rather then if I'll lose any). Still, it was a pleasant enough morning for trip to Blanchardstown and back. I spotted this house with an over-indulgence of red while on my way back. The redness seemed appropriate for my state of mind. I'm afraid the aftermath will prove more costly than whatever these people spent on paint, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.