No Escape

Even the Ivy on the Square has succumbed to over decoration ahead of Christmas. It’s all a bit out of character with the douce stonework of the surrounding buildings although admittedly more sophisticated than the giant Edinburgh Christmas fairground over the road in Princes Street Gardens.

The weather choice seems to be polar temperatures, dry and frosty or incessant drizzle with rain thrown in and mild temperatures. The dice fell on the latter for the third consecutive day, making it a miserable experience to be abroad on the streets.

I have very little to add, save mentioning a lovely lunch in the Rabbit Hole (strange name for a little restaurant) with another very new reluctant widow. We are a growing band of such ladies, and I think there were more than a few dining beside us ...widows who lunch, you might say.

I was happy in light of the weather to hop home to the Dower House and pick up the knitting, even though I should have my nose in our book group book- ‘Becoming’ by Michelle Obama. Much as I admire her I can’t say I’m particularly interested in the minutiae of her life....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.