A day in the life

By Shelling

Thursday

A day almost without appointments. In the morning I met a new student, he's my age and wants help widening his accompaniment playing. I like to help with that, it's going to be fun.

I had lunch at "Porten" 'The Gate' in Kalmar. The Gate is a restaurant in the theatre building where they serve the best vegetarian buffé in town. One important reason they picked that name is that new immigrants get to work there. Women, men, as long as they can make good vegetarian food. for nearly all of them it's their first chance to work in Sweden and to meet and talk to swedes. It's such an important place for them and the food is amazing, you don't get anything like it around here. Unfortunately they are closing down on Saturday. It's a long and sad story that comes down to a bad contract with Kalmar council that the council refuse to re-negociate, despite protest lists, pressure from immigrant organisations, the theatre and of course the regular guests of the restaurant. Really tragic, there are no winners.

After lunch I did my annual vision check and  there is nothing wrong with my eyes that wasn't wrong before. I have glasses but need to change them soon because they're worn out. It's just very expensive.
The blip is from the bridge over to my island in the miserable weather.

It's late, after midnight, but I've been watching a movie on Netflix "The Irishman" with Al Pacino and Robert de Niro acting together. The film is violent and very sad but the acting... See it for that, if nothing else. Goodnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.