Here we go again!

At 19.40 I received at WhatsApp message from Bas. ‘I fell during atletics and hurt my knee’.
While I was answering ‘Ok, I’ll pick you up’ another message came in. “The ambulance is on the way”
What??? By then all the alarm bells went off.
Annemarie and I switched to turbo mode and in no time we were sitting next to Bas in an ambulance.
His kneecap had shifted when he stumbled across a hurlde. There he was, pale and shaking with stress and pain. Poor boy.
When the ambulance nurse saw his knee she decided not to try to push it back by herself, but instead go to the hospital in Scheemda. In her words: "Nou, dei zit d'r flink noast, doar kom ik nait aan"

Annemarie stayed with Bas in the ambulance and I followed in our car. Once on the main road the ambulance switched on its blue flashing lights and there they went, ignoring red traffic lights. I couldn't keep up with it and after a while I saw them dissapear ahead of me. I must confess that wasn't a pleasant sight, all kind of memories from earlier this year came back. Why him again? Hasn't he gone through enough already??

Once in the hospital, a doctor quickly pushed the kneecap back in place by gently stretching his leg. I could tell by the expression on Bas' face that wasn't very nice, but the moment the cap was in place, most of the pain was gone and Bas even got some colour back in his face.
What a relief when the x-rays showed nothing abnormal.
All that is left now is 6 weeks in a brace to prevent the knee from bending and after that Bas should be able to go back to normal again. By then it'll be January....

We were all back home around 22.30 hours.
Let's hope Bas will get a good nights sleep.
I guess I'll be working from home tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.