atoll

By atoll

Woodhead Just Before The Snow

Just made the A628 Woodhead Pass over the Peaks District from Manchester to Sheffield and back in time today. This shot was taken about 2pm midway across, and around 3 hours later the snow was starting to fall fast as we drove home along the Snake Pass. Both routes are probably impassable now as I write the day up ensconced back home. The Sheffield band, The Human League sang about the roads in The Snake, which included a line that described "A rush along a zigzag road".

We ran J back to Sheffield today and dropped her at her digs in Crooksmoor. MrsB hadn't seen the place before and was a little shocked at both the house and the central heating provision. Of course J is happy enough, and I had to reassure MrsB that this was all perfectly normal for students (and a damn sight better than I ever got in my day). I think this was the first-ever shared 'student house' MrsB had encountered.

Knutsford seems very quiet now we are back, and with just the two of us rattling around the house.

Postscript: Very disappointed in Radio5 Live in that I timed the whole trip today so that I could listen to the Man U v Liverpool game whilst driving across. It was not on, which was not on. But oh that Robin Van Persie. He certainly ruined the party for the scousers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.