atoll

By atoll

Is That All There Is?

Newly moved-into our little pied-à-terre in Beaumaris, I rolled mine and 9-year-old J's swimming cozzies into a towel the first Saturday morning we were there, and marched off to the Leisure Centre, with the bundle tucked under my arm: "One adult and one child for the pool please" says I; "Sorry, we havn't got a pool" came the reply from a receptionist, trying not to laugh. Mental note to self that day: never assume anything, and always do your research to minimise public humiliation (even if the lack of same does give J and MrsB a story to dine out on for years to come).

Roll-on 12 years: As part of my ongoing stargazing series had been bigging-up the Jodrell Bank experience to J and MrsB all week prior to our visit today. I had even recounted memories of a school visit made in 1971 not long after it's Visitor Centre opened. The lasting impression (even now) was of a magical 'planetarium' experience seeing far off galaxies and futuristic Mars voyages projected onto a big domed ceiling. Forty years later, I wondered how good this planetarium would have become by now, with all the advances in science, new computer technology, 3D digital projection systems and surround sound? I couldn't wait.

Sadly, the reality as per Beaumaris Leisure Centre was disappointment. After forking out the £15 entry for the 3 of us, we found out that the Planetarium had been demolished in 2003 following the discovery of asbestos. There was no equivalent provided for today's visitors that I could find. I got that knowing 'look' and wry smile that all husbands and fathers know so well.

Whilst there was lots of other interpretation 'stuff', it didn't float my boat. The only thing I really liked was this old mechanical orrery on display in the discovery centre. That and the DIY cardboard 'Create A Night Sky Projection Kit' bought from the shop afterwards (and which has now taken me a good hour or more to punch the constellations in with a pin, and assemble origami style). I will let you know how that was tomorrow (I forgot the batteries for the little lightbulb provided). One of those days, clearly.

The old Peggy Lee song, covered recently by PJ Harvey Is That All There Is? came to mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.