atoll

By atoll

The Gold Standard

"God is in the detail" famously said old Modernist architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe. Whilst one of my house extension projects over in Cheadle Hulme is a million miles away on so many fronts from the sublime quality of his Barcelona Pavilion, it does at least show that if simple things are worth doing, they are usually worth doing properly, indeed well. In this case some lead detailing, that will eventually not even be on view.

Eddie the builder was very proud and told me that his appointed lead-working 'subbies' were Lead Contractors Association Heritage Skills and Advanced Gold Level standard. This fact was reflected in the evidence of their upstand capping with it's lovely tucked and mitred inside corner joint seen here. We both admired it from a distance, and I climbed the ladder to look at it close up.

This is very sad of course I know, but hey this is all that has happened to me so far today, so why cheat? The rest of the evening holds great potential on quite a few fronts, but I decided to celebrate perfection of the common man and in the commonplace for once.

Is it that time already? I need a drink I think.

Have a great weekend all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.