atoll

By atoll

A Moments Reflection

I talked about my love for Blackburn Cathedral back on May Day last year, but that day all my photographs taken inside were blurred (well "what's new" you say). Today was my second bite of the cherry as I was attending my first Advisory Committee meeting in the crypt this morning, which was linked to an ambitious new diocese masterplan.

Afterwards I hung around a while, and was enjoying listening to the organist practicing some simple contemporary work (either that or he was re-tuning the organ). Either way it sounded so eerily beautiful, that I recorded a quick 2 minute sound bite on my audioboo.

As on May Day, I took another photo of the Corona crown of thorns, the artwork of ecclesiastical artist John Hayward, hanging over the alter. This is it above, along with his very modern stained glass and other works. I think it is stunning.

Postscript: Whilst I was inside I got a call from a very close friend and so couldn't take it. I called him as soon as I got outside only to find that his mum was now gravely ill. It was so heartbreaking, and I found out later, that she passed away in the afternoon. There was some comfort at least in the fact that she was still at home with her husband, 5 sons and other family around her. I actually didn't know her very well, but through my friend, always felt that I did. What I do know is that she was really loved, and was a beautiful yet very strong lady, as she had to be, bringing up a house-full of tough northern men. They are all really going to miss her, not least my friend who idolised her, but I suppose we all have to go sometime, and this is by far the best way: at home, and surrounded by all your loving family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.