A Colorado Thanksgiving!!

Today was Thanksgiving in the US and I was still on my extended layover. I got an unexpected message from my friend Andrea in Colorado Springs yesterday and when she realised I was in Denver she immediately invited me to join them for the day. And so I did! I visited Bill and Andrea in the summer (here) when I was staying in Denver, after many years of not seeing them. I had been friends with Bill when we both lived in Denver in the 80s way before he was married to Andrea. It’s so nice to be back in touch!

I took the Denver light rail (tram) down to the most southern end of the line and Bill drove north from Colorado Springs (45 min) to pick me up. And of course did the same later in the day. That’s a lot of driving - very generous friends!

There were other guests arriving - parents and cousins and two of their 4 adult children were home. We were 10 around the table for a very traditional Thanksgiving meal. But before the others arrived we went for a beautiful walk in the snow. There are THREE dogs in the home but they don’t all get along, so we walked Star (the newest addition) on this walk. The other two had already been walked earlier. The other dogs are Sadie - the senior one (bottom left), and Taz, who thinks she is a lap dog (bottom right).

Besides the dogs there are two alpacas in their barn, and I got to see them as well and give them some treats. We had already met in the summer so I had to see them again! The darker one on the left is Don Juan and the lighter one on the right is Dark Star Man.

There is so much to be thankful for and today I am particularly thankful for all the friends - AND animals - in my life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.