Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Demolition

Today was the first day of my new fireplace project - removing the ancient and broken gas open basket, and opening up the hole to accommodate a gas burning stove. The guys worked very hard and it was very noisy. I had to ‘mask’ the evidence of the typical ‘builder’s bum’, as I didn’t want to violate any decency rules on Blipfoto!

Although I was happy with their work, I was very disappointed to hear their unwillingness to make the space the height and size that I wanted - and as neighbours in identical houses have had done. There ensued lengthy discussions with the owner of the company on what is possible and/or legal. Conversations with neighbours and my lodger who is in the building trade went on into the evening. To say I am NOT happy is an understatement. Since I’m writing this a few days later I can say that I also had a couple of conversations with an alternative fireplace business (the one I SHOULD have gone with, even though more expensive). Everyone reassured me that what I want does not conflict with any building regulations and is not a difficult job.

It looks like I may halt this project for now and switch to the other company to finish. Not a comfortable step and it means I will have to wait for 2-3 months, but this is a HUGE amount of money to spend, I intend to stay in this house for the long term, and I’ll be looking at this every day. I want to get it right and not settle. I’m having to be the tough woman and stand up for what I want and know is possible without being fobbed off by builders who want to take the easy route. Watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.