Earthy and Mysterious

Took me longer to get from Sete Rios bus station to my colleague's flat than it did to get from Évora to Lisbon. So strange to be traveling without Mike. I have been spoilt, and it's good for me to have to lug my own luggage. I guess.

Have started The Overstory, by Richard Powers, our Christmas gift from Jan and Keith, got so into it, almost didn't realize we were crossing the 25 de Abril bridge. Here's a quote from page 5 about roast chestnuts:

The charred nuts are comforting beyond words: sweet and savory, rich as a honeyed potato, earthy and mysterious all at once.

Gratefuls:
- Mike giving me a lift to Évora coach station
- Alex's warm Australian hospitality, he'd made beef bourguignon with polenta, absolutely delicious
- having an adventure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.