KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Road trip

My husband has to spend next week in the Bay Area of California for work. So we decided to take a quick trip down to our favorite bed and breakfast in northern Napa Valley for the weekend. Since he doesn’t fly, we drove down from Portland today - it’s kind of a haul...about 9 hours. But we leave so early in the morning I can generally while away several hours sleeping!

But it’s worth it to have a couple of days alone while he’s feeling relaxed. I’ll fly home Sunday night and he’ll head to Santa Clara for the week.

This bed and breakfast - Meadowlark Country House - http://www.meadowlarkinn.com/ is in Calistoga and we come here every chance we can. They have a garden where the owners grow fruit and vegetables, as well as some extraordinary roses and other flowers. The owners are marvelous and the rooms and grounds are so inviting and elegant.

Since I’ve been posting so many roses recently, I thought that these persimmons would be interesting. They’re still on the tree - I’m not quite certain if they’re ripe but I’ll ask at breakfast tomorrow. Till then!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.