Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Palm Bob

Suastus gremius gremius

Another filthy day, but once again the rain stopped around 10am. Very strange weather here at the moment. Even though it was heavily overcast, still there seemed to be plenty of butterflies around but still the big girls wouldn't let me near.

Lots of mating going on too, which could explain the activity. Indonesia bug life is not like the cooler climates, mating season is not a once per year thing. I am seeing a lot of dragon mating going on at the moment and lots of spider egg sacs too as you saw on my 500th blip.

I accidentally under exposed this shot, failing to readjust after attempting to shoot a white psyche butterfly, but the damage was not too bad and an easy recovery.

Something seemed different about this butterflies look. I have a folder with 24 browns to compare and sure enough, this one was indeed different. All the other browns had white spots compared to the black spots on this image. The ID was an easy find on the Singapore butterfly site.

I don't think it is rare, I just stopped shooting the brown skippers as I already had plenty. That policy is now changing as I learn that just because they look the same from a distance, they may be variations. Yes, my bugging has become far more obsessive of late.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.