Elm in fog

I woke several times in the night with an irritating cough, so was rather reluctant to get up early. When I finally dragged myself from under the duvet I realised there was freezing fog, and though the sensible part of me felt I should stay at home in the warm, I couldn't resist going out to get a few photographs.

I started out at the river, but water levels have risen again so I was quite limited in where I could go. Having got thoroughly wet feet, I decided to go north and see if any of the trees and woodland were looking photogenic. I found some rather wonderful stately hedgerow oaks near Marholm (see extra), and these rather spooky looking woods on the edge of the Milton Estate, almost monochrome apart from the golden yellow leaves of the elm, whose demise has been rather over-estimated in our part of the world.

I spent the rest of the day indoors, coughing and sneezing. I've completely lost my voice, which I find rather frustrating but it has amused Pete immensely. All sorts of hand signals have been improvised. I'm hoping my voice will return again tomorrow as we're supposed to be having a birthday meal for Chris!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.