Woody woodpecker

The suns shone in a clear blue sky - perfect weather for an expedition. Except I was still feeling very below par, so decided to content myself with a slow potter round Thorpe Wood. Since I last visited nearly all the leaves have dropped, and most of the fungi have gone, but there were some lovely mossy stumps to pore over. There were also some very large flocks of foraging birds, mostly blue tits and long-tailed tits, but with a scatter of other species including this splendid great spotted-woodpecker, a treecreeper and a couple of nuthatches.

In the evening Pete and I joined the younger members of the family and their friends for a drink at the Palmerston Arms, the first part of Chris's birthday celebrations. I survived for a couple of hours, but was glad to come home to a late dinner and an early bed! Everyone else arrived back in the small hours of the morning, having had a very good night!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.