Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Cormorant

Back blipped on 1st Dec

A lovely day, but with an unscheduled ending.

We started with a Walk in the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park.  Lovely sunny morning, though cold.  Lots of usable photos, but I picked this one of the cormorant in its typical "hanging out to dry" pose.  

Then a trip to The British Museum, where we mainly focussed on an interesting exhibition about Sir Stamford Raffles, but also enjoyed a sit down.

Then another early dinner, before a second concert by Sir Andras Schiff and The Budapest Festival orchestra.

A brisk walk back to Liverpool Street Station, where we just made it onto a train to our B & B.  By that time, we'd done about 20,000 steps, and my knees were aching.

Then things took a turn for the worse - the train started with a slight jerk just as I was sitting down, I lost my balance, and ended up in a heap on the floor with a broken wrist.

The platform staff at Stratford, where we disembarked to seek help, were very good, and between us all, we fashioned a splint from some pencils, to enable me to tolerate a cab journey to Whipps Cross ED.

The NHS did me proud.  The wrist was x-rayed, manipulated and plastered, and we were back in our B & B by 1.30 in the morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.