Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Wintry Mix

This is the forecast that those of us in northern climates probably dislike the most - it combines, rain, snow, sleet and just a whole lot of yuck.  Still, it brings big crowds to the feeders and today was no exception.  Under normal circumstances (i.e. those where I hadn't broken my foot), I'd be outside in the hide enjoying every chilly second of the activity.  However, instead I parked myself by the kitchen window and clicked my little heart out through the glass.  I always dislike the extra noise and lack of sharpness that shooting through window glass produces, but its the best I can do at the moment.  

We continue to have large numbers of House Finches (pictured here - male and female) at the feeders, more than I can ever recall.  And they were joined today by the first two American Tree Sparrows (see Extra) of the winter season as well as loads of juncos, white-throated sparrows, titmice, blue jays, cardinal and one Song Sparrow.  And, for about 10 minutes, a flock of 30 or so Brown-headed Cowbirds who completely took over the feeders - glad when they left.

There were four chipmunks still out - all are young and I suspect that they've gotten a late start building up their pantries.  (see Extra) They were determined, however, to leave with pouches full, before dashing across the lawn and into the woods.  The squirrels were also out in abundance, being hogs at the feeders and attacking anything that got too close, including each other.  Ah well.

Enjoyed our usual weekly call with Mom and Dad.  The weather in OR has been cold lately so they've been cooped up in the condo, not ideal for either of them.  Hopefully they will get a break in the weather which will allow them to get out and about.  

Tomorrow morning we are forecast to get 4-8 inches of snow, so I plan to park myself right in my usual spot in the kitchen and try for some snowy pictures.

Chili for dinner tonight ...yay.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.