Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Advent 1

... and the first day of December as well.
I bought this beautiful Georg Jensen advent candle in Lewis's at a wonderfully reduced price on Friday, but it's going to take forever to get down as far as the number 1! It's been burning for 5 hours already. I've poured off some wax in the hope that that will help. We have a chocolate calendar too, of course, but one to share of course not one each, no, no, that would be greedy wouldn't it... However they'll be half price tomorrow, so who knows..
Sunday today and we lit the first, white, candle in our advent crown. Advent's theme is watching and waiting and the sermon in church reflected on this and how different that is to our outlook on life today, when everything has to happen immediately if not sooner.
We had our monthly shared lunch after church and everyone seemed very content to blether on afterwards.
This afternoon I went for a walk down to Craigleith and picked up some half price lights from the home store including some battery ones for the tree outside. I've decided to lower the tone of the neighbourhood for a while, all by myself. None of that white light nonsense either I'm a multi - coloured lights sort of a person me! They have a function so that they'll come on for 6 hours in the evening then switch off for the other 18 then come back on again, marvelous stuff and all for less that a fiver. According to the shop staff the batteries should last at least two weeks. Impressive and no looking for the faulty bulb either as they are LED and the bulbs won't blow!
Have a fruitful advent everybody, I've been given Jane Williams book The Art of Advent which has a painting a day from Advent to Epiphany, Mike is looking after my soul for me! Today's image is the wonderful The Ancient of Days by William Blake with words on the theme of light and dark.
Steps today 15320

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.