Kipsie

By Kipsie

You will not find any monkeys

in this tree, which is not at all surprising, as it's in the gardens along Torquay seafront, but what is a little puzzling is why it's common name is the Monkey Puzzle tree. The Araucaria araucana, Monkey Puzzle tree, is a native of Chile where monkeys are as rare as hens teeth apparently, or so I've read. I also read that its leaves are spiky, stiff, leathery, & arranged around the trunk & branches so quite good as a secret weapon & deterrent for the unsuspecting local Torbay wildlife. This is a very fine specimen, a lovely shape so should make a beautiful tree in years to come.

Earlier, like 5.20am, the pitter patter of Ella's tiny feet on the laminate flooring woke me, I scrambled out of bed then out to open the door for her. It was mighty chilly so I went back and sat waiting for her to return before diving back under the bed clothes ... I waited, no Ella. Right I'd better go and look for her, she can't have gone far as the gates are closed. I grabbed my phone to use the torch. She'd gone down to the lower garden and pond, obviously confused and could'nt find her way back up to the house. She has definite signs of dementia, so there is a lot of pacing & repeating her movements. Anyway, found, back indoors, in the warm. She settled back in her bed, then it was my turn.  It was such a fabulous morning when I woke again, bright blue skies & sunshine. Perfect! Bedding laundered while we had our breakfast. Ella had a real spring in her step this morning, but decided to walk her locally so we walked up to Armada Park & back, I pegged the washing out, then jumped in the car taking Nicky's Xmas cards & parcels to the post office.  Cards were fine but they needed to know the contents of the Xmas parcels, well I had no idea. Perfume, batteries, nail varnish, aerosols were among the items they were concerned about ... So I brought the parcels home again. Sent a message to Nicky who is cruising around New Zealand, fingers crossed she replies. After the post office I drove down to Torre Abbey, parking in the same car park as yesterday. I thought I'd spotted some canons in the garden which I thought would make a perfect subject for today's blip Secret Weapon blip,  then I had a sudden flash of inspiration. The cactus house in Torre Abbey Gardens. Nasty, vicious cacti. Brilliant! Torre Abbey is closed on Mondays. Oh poo! .. I found the canons around the front of the building, not very impressive, not great blip material, so then I thought there had to be some nice spiky plants around. I'd spotted some Agave  plants before, they did'nt look great either when I found them just back from the seafront. Okay! Swans are vicious, could be classed as a secret weapon. They were also along by the sea front, then I spotted the Monkey Puzzle tree. Da - dah!!!
Back to base, raked the leaves up off the lawn, checked the plants in the greenhouse by which time it was 1.30. Lunch alfresco in the sunshine ... what a treat. All my chores done for today, I had another play with the lino cutting piece that I started last week. Negative & positive proofs. I've got a lot to learn but having fun creating, it's also relaxing once you get the feel for the lino. It got dimpsy about 4ish so time to stop, I don't want to mess it up. By the time I'd got the laundry in, remade my bed, closed up the garage & greenhouse it was nearly cider o'clock. I made a cup of black tea to use as an eye wash for Ella the Wonderdog, she does'nt like having her eyes cleaned, but I was determined to do it as I know it irritates her having mucky eyes. We had a little chat, then amazingly she stood still, let me clean around one eye, then we had a little snarl, before letting me do the second one. She got 2 doggy choc drops as a reward. :- )
Dinner was an orts concoction using up bits n bobs in the fridge. A quick & easy dinner tonight.

Thanks to Carolina for hosting Mono Monday .. Secret Weapon a great challenge. I've seen some great interpretations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.