Discovery

Beautiful weather so I had a rare lunchtime walk and explore.

This is the Roman Amphitheatre which was built around 2 A.D. it’s the first time I’ve actually visited it (despite living in the area for about 20 years) and it was super interesting as I hadn’t realised it was quite so big.

Parts of it are fenced of in an attempt to battle erosion and there are signs telling you to stick to the ‘main paths’ but it’s not super clear where those are as there are so many paths, especially with people trying to avoid the mud.

It’s one of the largest surviving examples of an amphitheatre in Britain and after the Romans left in 5 A.D it had lots of other uses such as a market place and later as a rabbit warren for the Abbot of Cirencester (in 1286).

I’m sure if I had a drone I could have taken a really amazing shot of this as it looks impressive in Google Maps. I decided to take this blip with a dog walker in it to try and give a sense of scale.

I had a super lunch and feel set up nicely for the rest of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.