Slaughter on the lawn

We returned home on Sunday to evidence of a fatality among the local pigeon population.

I don't know who the culprit was - possibly one of the neighbourhood cats, but the scattered feathers look very like the debris left by a sparrowhawk.

After a visit to fracture clinic today, I'm now sporting a fetching red cast on my wrist, but only applied on top of the previous one, so my wrist is still in the flexed position.  Follow up next week for another x-ray, and hopefully at that time I might be able to have a new cast that is slightly less uncomfortably positioned.

Our central heating boiler has packed up, so we've been sitting in the garden room (which is heated by an electric radiator).  Lots of birds on the feeders, of all sorts.  And now W is about to light the wood burner.  Fortunately, the boiler repair man can visit tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.