I just wished....

Of course I never want anyone hurt but it seems that so many just don't care these days. When I first started driving, I stopped at all the wrecks if I was one of the first there, called them all in - just in case and... 

Today going through a construction zone where the speed limit is just 50 miles per hour, the forward radar on my truck (part of the auto braking system) said that car after car was going 15 miles per hour or more over the speed limit. You know at some point if you want to live recklessly that's your right... however the children in the backseat don't have that choice and I have seen several leave this earth way to early...

In 1996 I was traveling with two other truck drivers in trucks that were governed at 58 miles per hour. At this time the speed limit in Washington was 60 mph, 55 in Oregon and as it still is in California, 55 mph for trucks. We were traveling along shooting the breeze on the C.B.Radio not paying enough attention to what was around us.. As we rolled off a hill a bit to fast, two California Highway Patrol Officers pulled all three of us over. Two of us got tickets for 61 in a 55 mph zone and the other for doing 62 mph. 

Ever since this time I knew I got lucky nothing else happened. Its really easy to get distracted. Put the phone down, don't set a GPS while moving in traffic, even "just changing the radio station" takes your eyes off the road... Just think if your wife, husband, best friend, or... is in the car beside you, behind you or in front.. knowing you all want to make it home that night...

This Pigeon just reminded me of some of the tales my dad told me when he had Pigeons long before I was born... Headed to Portland tomorrow... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.