Snowyjones12334

By Snowyjones

Sunrise from Mt Batur

Arrived at the base of the volcano with the stars shining so brightly in the night sky. Met our guide to discover that our group consisted of him, who was 20 years of age, two very athletic 19 year old German girls and me. They all seemed to be in a great hurry so after half an hour of feeling harried I told them to just go on ahead as I would prefer to walk at my own pace. Was mightily relieved when they did and I found my own, slow rhythm with the air getting cooler and more energising the higher I got. Made it up for the sunrise but it was only glimpsed for short moments when the clouds thinned. The mountain in the picture is the higher volcano Mt Agung but no one is allowed to climb it just now on account of it grumbling away. It’s so picturesque I reckon it’s probably better to climb Mt Batur and get the view of that one. Had breakfast and coffee made for us at the summit as I basked in the cool clouds and then a dusty descent down to the rich farmlands at the bottom, due to the volcanic ash presumably. It’s a mucky affair climbing a volcano, made even more so because, as predicted, my knock off trainers had almost completely come apart by the time I got to the summit so I had to descend in my sandals which I had thankfully, managed to improvise a heel strap for out of a strip of muslin.
We then visited a Luwak coffee jungle/plantation which I will elaborate on tomorrow as I suspect I will not be doing anything very interesting tomorrow, maybe a few stretches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.