Andrew sculpting

After sorting out some financial details in town, I went to the Town Council offices to check some documents so we can formulate a plan. It all took longer than I'd anticipated, but it was time spent usefully.

Some days ago I'd arranged to visit Andrew W., who has recently moved into new accommodation close to the town centre. He has come back from Italy while he sorts out the next phase of his life and he has managed to incorporate a studio space into this new home, which seems ideal for him at present.

Andrew and I went to a boarding school together in the 60s and are about the same age. We've stayed in contact over the years and I used to visit him in the 70s, when he lived in a ruined chapel in Uley, which is a village a few miles from Stroud. He eventually transformed the chapel into an arts centre called Prema, which is still very successful.

Today we had tea and biscuits, while we chatted, as one does when you haven't seen a friend for some time. Andrew picked up his clay and a sculpting knife while we talked, as he likes to carry on with his work. I asked him if I could take some pictures at the same time. So we pottered about occupied in our own crafts, and I had a fun time. It was lovely to see him and I shall respond to his invitation to return soon to take more pictures. He has been commissioned to make a statue of Ganesh for a restaurant in London, and as this is only the beginning, I shall be interested to see how the process develops. He says he has been working on this for four days so far.

A little later Andrew asked if he could take a photo of me standing next to one of his earlier sculptures, which hangs on the studio wall. Perhaps I will get him to take a portrait of me one day for my blip.

Andrew Wood

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.