nataliespencer

By nataliespencer

Korina Hernandez - 16

How heavily do opinions from those around you, affect the way you think?
Depending on the person, it depends on how much someone's opinions affects me. If a random stranger said something about the way I dress I don't think I would be affected. However, if my best friend told me they thought my style was bad then I would take it more to heart. I think it also depends on the positive or negative opinion. If I heard one negative opinion about myself or something I care about and ten positive opinions i would be more affected by the negative opinion. 


What group of people are mostly affected by self perception due to social media?
I think teenagers and the new upcoming generation are mostly affected by social media. They are growing up with the image of a “picture perfect” life, what people expect them to look like, and how they should live their life. Because they see people wanting them to look like a certain image, they can develop self detrimental thoughts and habits. They may want to change themselves to fit the “model” that social media portrays, and it has become increasingly more seen throughout younger girls. 


Where does your conception of body image come from?
To me, the conception of body image comes from social media and people in your life. You see your body everyday but the way you want it to look like can change because of the world around you. That does not mean that everyone is unhappy with their body and how they look, but it does bring in different factors into your body image and your overall mindset of your body. 


In what ways did your mother’s self perception affect your own?
 My mom doesn't care what she looks like, because she doesn’t allow society to factor in on her mindset and she taught me to do the same. She taught me that i should not allow people to affect my image of myself and change my opinion on myself. Since I have grown up hearing this from the one important role in my life, it has stuck with me.


To what extent does the social media standard affect your own opinion on an ideal body image?
Social media makes me realize how other people’s self perception can affect my mindset. It makes me think that I don't fit into the stereotypical look of girls. I think i let it control my mindset more than I want to admit and more than I want it to. 


At which age did you begin to pay attention to your body changes?
I started realizing a change at the end of eighth grade. People started talking about gaining and losing weight and how their bodies were changing. With them talking about that, it made me think about how my body changed. This resulted in me comparing myself more to the girls around me. 


In your opinion, do most girls have a negative or positive body image?
From hearing people speak, I think a lot of girls have a negative body image of themselves. They are often harsh on how they look and let the media affect how they feel. I think girls need to be easier on themselves and love what they look like. Also girls should support girls instead of bringing one another down. 


What can be done to promote positive body image?
I think making the spectrum of model shapes and sizes larger. Models are seen to be as the most pretty in society, and there is a common look. I think if the industry had more models of different sizes, not just the typical “skinny,” things would be different and less people would feel the need to want to look like anybody else.




How often do you find yourself on social media?
I am on social media everyday checking it almost 3-4 times a day. 


Have you tried ways to improve your own body image? Was is effective? If so, were you satisfied with the results?

I have tried to not compare myself to other girls. That has helped with my mindset of positivity towards my body. I also try not to think negative thoughts about myself and if I do, I tell myself that I am not what I think. I remind myself that I am my own toughest critic. All of this realization has helped in the long run and I feel better about myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.