nataliespencer

By nataliespencer

Claire Jackson - 18

How heavily do opinions from those around you, affect the way you think?
Other people’s opinions sometimes really do affect how I perceive myself and can sometimes change the direction of my actions. I try not to let peer pressure goad me into doing things I’m not interested in or miss out on things that I’m passionate about, but it does happen.


What group of people are mostly affected by self perception due to social media?
I think that teenagers are extremely affected by social media, meaning both males and females. Seeing influencers live (usually artificial) lavish lifestyles makes us yearn for something that isn’t even real or attainable, and makes us wonder what we’re doing wrong that causes us to not be able to live the same life as them. Body image is also something that leaves teenagers vulnerable, due to things such as photoshop and facetune.




Where does your conception of body image come from?
My perception of body image comes from my background as a gymnast, seeing as though I grew up in the sport and was surrounded by athletes who needed to stay in shape year round.




In what ways did your mother’s self perception affect your own?
My mom goes to the gym often and tries to stay active, but she’s content with her image because she says that her body is perfect because it’s her own. Sure there are things that she’d like to change, but in the end she always advised me to love myself, always tells me to love myself and assures me and tells me I’m beautiful, which really helps me because I’m often extremely hard on myself and my internal image.




To what extent does the social media standard affect your own opinion on an ideal body image?
I don’t think I’m affected by social media’s portrayal of body image, mainly because I’m fairly skinny and tall. This is a body type that is yearned for by many girls due to the negative side of social media, so I never feel outcasted due to my body type. It does become a bit overwhelming/irritating when people say I can’t complain about my body BECAUSE I’m already skinny, because it worries me that they think I’m fine simply because I appear to be what social media claims is “right.” 




At which age did you begin to pay attention to your body changes?
When I approached high school, around 14. Seeing other girls who had begun puberty earlier, and were looked at by boys more, made me realize how much gymnastics had stunted some of my body’s growth and made me feel a bit inferior.




In your opinion, do most girls have a negative or positive body image?
Most girls have a negative body image, from what I’ve seen and heard.




What can be done to promote positive body image?
Telling girls that they’re beautiful more than we already do, and promoting girls giving compliments to each other, even if it’s about hair or makeup. A small comment can really make someone’s day! Also putting light on a larger range of girl’s with different bodies, the same amount of attention that is shed on “skinnier” girls should be on everyone else as well. 




How often do you find yourself on social media?
A lot! Whenever I’m bored or in public and need stimulation I always find myself opening Snapchat, Instagram, or Twitter. Even TikTok now!


Have you tried ways to improve your own body image? Was is effective? If so, were you satisfied with the results?

I’ve tried to remain content with how I look and not worry about losing/gaining weight, and it’s worked. I sometimes find myself falling back into a negative headspace, but it’s very satisfying once you become content with the skin you’re in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.