nataliespencer

By nataliespencer

Kaile Chan - 17

How heavily do opinions from those around you, affect the way you think?
Others opinions around me affect the way i think a lot, because I value my close friends and family’s opinions. I feel like I have an identity to live up to that people know me as and I wouldn't want to change the way they look at me based on a “wrong” decisions, so I ask for others input a lot.


What group of people are mostly affected by self perception due to social media?
I feel that teens are the ones who are mostly affected by social media, because our generation involves updated technology that we didn’t have before. For this reason, the majority of teens spend their time on media outlets as a way to create a different life for themselves.


Where does your conception of body image come from?
People around me that I know. I constantly hear people talk about others and their bodies which makes me question my own. When you hear the standards of what other people view as “pretty,” it’s easier to bring yourself down if you don’t have those same traits that people are attracted to.


In what ways did your mother’s self perception affect your own?
My mom does not affect my own self perception because she is always the one person to remind me that I have a perfect body and I should show it off more. Even if she made decisions to work out or go on diets, she’d tell me that I was healthy and didn’t need to do the same.


To what extent does the social media standard affect your own opinion on an ideal body image?
Social media doesn't have that much of an impact except for when I (again) I see people I know more personally. The models and everyone are not a big deal to me and some aren’t as real, due to photoshop and editing apps. It is easier for me to compare myself to those that I know because it’s a realistic body type.


At which age did you begin to pay attention to your body changes?
I started noticing changes my freshman year. Everyone started getting into relationships and everyone seemed to be growing up and with that came body changes. Girls started paying more attention to what they had or what they didn’t have, and it was a common attitude to live up to what a guy saw as attractive.


In your opinion, do most girls have a negative or positive body image?
Negative, due to what people portray on the media. I noticed that everything that is unrealistic and edited, is what attracts more people.


What can be done to promote positive body image?
Spread more body positivity and not bring people down anymore. Also just to stop comparing yourself to other people in general, it shouldn’t be a norm to want someone else’s body.


How often do you find yourself on social media?
Everyday, majority of the day. Basically whenever I have free time.


Have you tried ways to improve your own body image? Was is effective? If so, were you satisfied with the results?

I’ve tried working out more to stay skinny and i've tried working on specific parts of my body but nothing has happened yet and i've tried keeping up with the way I look like my hair and face to make it look “up to standards.” But everything takes time, eventually i’ll be where I want to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.