Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Huddersfield Station

The first time I’ve been here since I used to travel regularly to my printmaking workshop in Salford and it was such a beautiful morning to be crossing the Pennine Hills.  I think on a day like today this must qualify as one of the most beautiful rail journeys in England (Sheffield to Manchester is also very lovely).  I’ve been on a macro workshop in Manchester that was organised by Wex Photographic and led by Wild Arena as a `taster’ introduction.  There were twelve of us altogether and everyone took turns and no one seemed to hog the show, which is not entirely usual for these kinds of events.  David (I think it was he) was fantastic, so good at explaining the principles behind successful macro photography and then so patient when it came to the practical session.  I’m not sure the set-ups would please a camera club judge but then Wild Arena also does small group and one to one sessions at their base at Knowsley Wildlife Park, so maybe one to think about for the future.

p.s. the rattle trap trains are no more (for those in the know,  the ones that used to squeal and squeak when the train set off) - so a new old one for the journey out and a very new looking train on the way back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.