The office clock.

This clock was in my office in Edinburgh on day one of my main career, which started in the 1980s. It’s made by Braidwood Developments Ltd and embossed (19)78. The mechanism has a wee slider switch to switch it off - batteries were expensive back in the day! It has a lovely reassuring tick. After some office refurbishment or other it came home with me to our office in the house, (formed in the mid 1990s when we built a house extension). Laterally the City office internal walls came down as the place went open plan, and I found doing office work from home attractive for considerative work, and it meant less pointless daily commuting. It was also a good place to work from in my peripatetic career and meant I was efficient and flexible. I didn’t get the room to myself though - it was where “the computer was,” so it was used in evenings for homework, some Uni assignments and by my wife for planning etc. Laterally my wife used it more as her career changed too. In early days we’d “dial up” internet, laterally high speed wireless broadband.

We’re working together on disposing some of my wife’s career stuff, (much of mine went last winter), and old domestic and personal paperwork. I plan to redecorate and refurbish the room a bit in due course. The clock will remain though, it’s a permanent fixture.

The map is an 1867 OS map of the area. It’s very revealing.

Full house for dinner this evening. And a fair bit of school talk, not for the first time! Also chat on the recent gas supply incident, pretty well resolved now for many.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.