Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Snowbird yet again

Figured I'd just keep posting birds in snow as long as I can.  So, you may as well settle in for the ride because I don't think the snow will be melting until next week.  Today's offering is a European House Sparrow with one foot tucked up into the down on her belly. This is something I commonly see birds doing when it's cold - warming first one foot, then the other.  And then there is the grumpy look on her face...

It was such a relief to be able to go to bed in a warm house last night, to be able to cook a proper dinner, wash dishes, shower, and flush toilets without having to dump a gallon of water in the tank first. The internet was also back up so we had all the access we tend to take for granted.  Today the sun was out so most of the heavy ice on the trees melted, thank goodness.  This means that the imminent danger of more downed trees/limbs is pretty much past.  Once this snow has melted, we will be able to better assess the damage to our trees, but it appears to be pretty significant.  One hell of a storm.  

This morning the furnace repair guy came to look at our upstairs unit which has been malfunctioning lately.  It needed a new control panel which he had on his truck and was able to install in under an hour.  We got off lucky on this one, I think.

Hubs and I ran some errands this afternoon which was somewhat challenging with my limited mobility.  We got one of those motorized shopping carts at the grocery store and, frankly, it was pretty terrifying!  I won't be doing that again.  And we went to Walmart where I used my knee-roller - also terrifying with customers careening around with their giant shopping carts, in a rush to purchase every made-in-China thing on the shelves.  Again, won't be doing that again soon.  We went to Burger King for lunch (I do love their new meatless "Incredibly Burgers") where I was able to navigate in and out with my crutches.  I am now able to put a little weight on my foot which is a big help.  

Last night we went to the home where MIL lives for their tree-lighting event.  It was really lovely - in addition to lighting the tree, they had the Activity Director playing guitar and doing a Christmas carol sing-along.  Several of the management staff had their young children there and it was hard to tell what the seniors enjoyed more - the music or the kids.  Santa even made an appearance.  We are so happy with this facility and so grateful that we were able to get MIL in.  She seems to be thriving.

So, that's a wrap for today.  Tomorrow it's back to the dentist to get my permanent crown installed.  Will be glad to have that behind me.

Thanks for dropping by.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.