wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Chocolate box

All the buildings in this town are definitely from a fairytale, but all the locals are from the grumpy version where they have "A 12 Step Guide to Smiling" pinned to the back of the door. It is delightful.

On arriving, I was wandering along, lugging my bags and keeping a close eye on google maps, when a woman stopped me and asked if I needed directions. "Nein, danke", I said. And she proceeded to direct me anyway. But she looked so put out by the entire interaction that for a moment I thought perhaps I had stopped her as she rushed to save her grandmother from a rampant leopard. Obviously I was imposing on her time. Then I remembered, she had stopped me.

I walked away with a chuckle, and the next time I saw an ostentatious car, I released my inner Germanic and gave it a hearty scowl. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.