wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Rainy

What is better on a rainy day than a long circular walk through forest and valley? My aim was the church in the nearby hamlet, but why take the direct route when you can just perambulate in the general direction instead? On getting there, I discovered that the church is only open for services during the winter, but I refused to be cowed by the rain or be disappointed. I had a lovely walk, my fancy new winter coat kept me dry, and I would swear that uphill in Europe is less uphilly than uphill in Tasmania - it certainly looks like a big incline from valley bottom to the town at the top, but I barely broke a sweat, even enclosed in all my layers. It's definitely a reflection on the hills and not my fitness levels.

On returning into the town, I realised that it is a weekend. From now on, I resolve to only travel on weekdays, and just skip the weekends, even if that means building a time machine. Throughout town, there were lines of people waiting to get into Christmas shops, and a general malignant melée everywhere else. I hustled through, to ensconce myself in a cosy corner of my accommodation. I'm not going anywhere for the rest of this dreary day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.